2020 Distinguished Contributions to Science Education through Research Awards

2020 Distinguished Contributions to Science Education through Research Awards

The 2020 recipients of the NARST Distinguished Contributions to Science Education through Research Award (DCRA) are:

Dr. Yehudit Judy Dori, Professor & Dean of Faculty of Education in Science and Technology, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology

Dr. Saouma B. BouJaoude, Professor & Associate Dean, FAS, and Science and Math Education Center & Center for Teaching and Learning, American University of Beirut

Professor Judy Dori has made many significant, lasting contributions to the field of science education. Her research on teaching, learning and curricula has impacted how science is taught in the K-12 and undergraduate settings. Coinciding with her well-regarded research program, she has engaged in leading the field of science education through her work on many national and international committees. The hallmark of her scholarly work is her notable leadership which has produced science education researchers and leaders and resulted in international connections that advance the field. Professor Dori’s dedication to improve science teaching and learning has ultimately made a global impact. 

Professor Saouma BouJaoude is an engaged scholar who has impacted science education at the local, regional, and international level. His scholarly productivity spans many areas from curriculum, to teachers, to students. At the core of this continuous line of work is his passion for the improvement of the educational condition for many students and teachers. As a tireless scholar and advocate for science education, he also mentors many students and faculty, and serves on numerous national and international committees. As stated by a fellow science educator, Professor BouJaoude’s dedication to the field of science education has resulted in his being the “nucleus of science education [in] the Arab region and an essential bridge between the region and the international science education community”.