NARST 2023 Distinguished Contributions to Research Award (DCRA) - First Call

NARST 2023 Distinguished Contributions to Research Award (DCRA) - First Call

This Award recognizes and rewards individuals who have made significant contributions to science education through exemplary, high quality research. It is the highest recognition that NARST bestows upon its members. The recipient(s) of the Award should have made substantial scholarly contributions over a period of at least 20 years since the award of their doctorate. Contributions may be of several types including, but not limited to, empirical, philosophical or historical research, evaluative studies, policy-related research, and studies reflecting new research approaches.

The award is given to one or more individuals who have over a period of at least 20 years:  

(a)  made continuing contributions to science education through research;

(b)  provided notable leadership in science education through research; and

(c)  had substantial impact on science education through research.

The DCRA Committee seeks nominations for the 2023 Award. Nomination letters must:

  • Indicate when the nominee completed the doctoral degree (ensuring that it has been 20 years since the award of the degree);
  • Address with evidence each of the three criteria (a, b, c); and
  • Be limited to 2-3 single-spaced pages.

Nominators are encouraged to also address the nominee’s global service to science education, as well as to NARST.

All members are encouraged to consider nominating a leading science education researcher for this award. Nominators must be current members of NARST; self-nominations and nominations of the NARST Leadership Team and Board of Directors, elected and ex officio (see, will not be considered. 

Questions regarding this award should be directed to Dana Zeidler ( Chair of the DCRA Committee, on behalf of Co-chair Xiufeng Liu and members: Agustín Adúriz-Bravo, Valarie Akerson, Dale Baker, Maria Pilar Jimenez-Aleixandre, Justin Dillon, Kathy Trundle, and Mei-Hung Chiu

Letters of nomination are due to Dana Zeidler ( and Xiufeng Liu ( by July 31, 2022. These letters will be reviewed by the DCRA committee, which may result in the request for a vita from the nominee. Nominees who are in the final pool will be requested to supply letters of support. From these materials, award recommendation(s) will be made to the NARST Board of Directors. 

Dana Zeidler (

DCRA Chair