NARST 2023 Early Career Research Award (ECRA) Full Nomination - First Call

NARST 2023 Early Career Research Award (ECRA) Full Nomination - First Call

The NARST Early Career Research Award (ECRA) acknowledges contributions to science education through research by individuals during the seven years immediately following receipt of the doctoral degree. To qualify for the award in 2023, the nominee must have received the doctoral degree on or after January 1, 2015. Research contributions may vary, including but not limited to, empirical, philosophical, historical research, critical perspectives, evaluative studies, policy-related research, and studies reflecting new research techniques.

This award is given to an individual who over the seven years immediately following receipt of the PhD has established a promising research agenda, published noteworthy work, and has the potential to make significant contributions to science education through research.

All NARST members are encouraged to consider nominating an eligible and deserving early career NARST member. Nominators must be current members of NARST; self-nominations will not be considered. The nomination letter should help the committee understand why the researcher’s scholarly record is deserving of recognition and contextualize the impact of the research in the nominee's institution and/or home country.

Nominations for the award must include the following materials:

  1. A letter of nomination which discusses the nominee’s impact on the field;
  2. The nominee’s vita;
  3. A two-page summary of the nominee’s research interests, prepared by the nominee; and,
  4. Three of the nominee’s most significant papers
  5. Two letters of support that discuss the nominees research agenda, and significance of the nominee's scholarship.

In evaluating nomination materials, the ECRA committee will consider the following:

  • Extent to which the nominee has offered new ideas or new directions for the field
  • Prominence of journals in which the nominee has published
  • The extent to which research is represented both nationally and internationally in peer-reviewed journals
  • Research conference presentations
  • Research grant awards (relative to opportunities available to the nominee given their national context)
  • Extent to which nominee has established himself or herself as an independent scholar

For each of the three papers submitted, the committee will consider the following:

  • Intellectual quality of the scholarship
  • Quality of theoretical foundations
  • Methodological rigor
  • Creativity/Innovation
  • (For multi-authored papers) The nominee’s contribution to the paper

Questions regarding the award should be directed to Hsin- Kai Wu (, chair of the ECRA Committee, on behalf of Doug Larkin (Co-chair), and members: Eleanor Abrahms, Doris Ash, Meg Blanchard, Ben Herman, Christine Lotter, Bridget Miller, Erin Peters-Burton, Anton Puvirajah, Matthew Weinstein, and Larry Yore

Please send your nomination package as one pdf document to the Chair of the committee, Hsin-Kai Wu ( and co-chair Doug Larkin (, Nominations are due July 31, 2022.


Hsin- Kai Wu (

ECRA Chair